Funding Initiatives

As an interdepartmental organization on the University of Texas at Austin campus, we intend to synergize infectious disease efforts on campus and be the focal point for outreach into the Austin medical community. Donations will support the organization and operation of our seminar series. The seminar series features speakers who are recognized infectious disease experts and researchers from UT Austin and the local medical community as well as from prestigious institutions throughout the United States.

The Richard J. Meyer Endowed Lectureship will allow LCID faculty, students, and postdoctoral fellows to learn cutting edge information that will inspire their research.  Richard J. Meyer was a member of the Department of Microbiology and the merged Molecular Genetics and Microbiology Department and the Molecular Biosciences Department. This endowment was established in Richard’s memory to recognize his contributions to science and his training of Microbiology graduate students.

At the LaMontagne Center for Infectious Disease, we also aim to provide fellowships to leading researchers to perform cutting-edge research for the LaMontagne Center. This clinical fellows program is essential to establish strong clinical collaborations between UT Austin researchers and clinicians in the Austin area. As the medical school grows, the LaMontagne Center hopes to expand this program to more and more collaborators.

Research is the central function of the LaMontagne Center; however, outreach programs also play an important role in fulfilling our mission. It is important to inspire and encourage our youngest citizens of society into the Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) fields. The outreach programs of the LaMontagne Center help prepare future students to make successful transitions into science fields, including students who are underrepresented in the field.  For instance, one current outreach program at the LaMontagne Center provides summer research opportunities for a select number of students from Texas undergraduate institutions.